Graduate Affairs Committee

Archive

2008-09

Graduate Affairs Committee Roster 2008-2009

  • View the 2008-2009 Roster

    Graduate Affairs Committee 2008-2009

    Margaret Adamek, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    School of Social Work
    ES 4138 H
    IUPUI
    274-6730
    MADAMEK@IUPUI.EDU

    Hasan Akay, Ph.D.
    School of Engineering & Technology
    ET 215B
    IUPUI
    274-9710
    HAKAY@IUPUI.EDU

    Beth Berghoff, Ph.D.
    School of Education
    ES 3127
    IUPUI
    278-1108
    BBERGHOF@IUPUI.EDU

    Paul S. Carlin, Ph.D.
    Department of Economics
    CA 509B
    IUPUI
    278-7239
    PCARLIN@IUPUI.EDU

    Subir Chakrabarti, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Economics
    CA 525
    IUPUI
    274-2412
    IMXL100@IUPUI.EDU

    George Edwards, J.D.
    School of Law
    IH 201
    IUPUI
    278-2359
    GEDWARDS@IUPUI.EDU

    David Ford, Ph.D.
    School of Liberal Arts
    CA 441
    IUPUI
    274-2449
    DAFORD@IUPUI.EDU

    Dominique Galli, Ph.D.
    School of Dentistry
    DS 261
    IUPUI
    278-1936
    DGALLI@IUPUI.EDU

    Greg Garrett
    Graduate Student Organization President
    IUPUI
    GGARRET@IUPUI.EDU

    Mark Goebl, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Biochemistry
    MS 4071F
    IUPUI
    274-2055
    MGOEBL@IUPUI.EDU

    Stephen Hundley, Ph.D.
    School of Engineering & Technology
    ET 309E
    IUPUI
    274-2876
    SHUNDLEY@IUPUI.EDU

    Marilyn Irwin, Ph.D.
    School of Library & Information Science
    UL 3115J
    IUPUI
    278-2385
    IRWINM@IUPUI.EDU

    Anthony Kaleth, Ed.D.
    School of Physical Education & Tourism Management
    PE 271
    IUPUI
    278-8439
    AKALETH@IUPUI.EDU

    Michael Klemsz, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Microbiology & Immunology
    MS 5010
    IUPUI
    274-8298
    MKLEMSZ@IUPUI.EDU

    David Koerner*
    Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    278-2071
    GKOERNER@IUPUI.EDU

    Michael J. Kowolik, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    School of Dentistry
    DS 260
    IUPUI
    278-0222
    MKOWOLIK@IUPUI.EDU

    Jane Lambert
    Kelley School of Business
    BS 3024F
    IUPUI
    278-1118
    JLAMBERT@IUPUI.EDU

    Paul Lang
    School of Public & Environmental Affairs
    BS 4032Y
    IUPUI
    278-0343
    PLANG@IUPUI.EDU

    Joyce Mac Kinnon, Ed.D.
    School of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
    CF 120 C
    IUPUI
    274-1029
    JMACKINN@IUPUI.EDU

    Craig McDaniel
    Herron School of Art & Design
    HM 110
    IUPUI
    278-9407
    CRMCDANI@IUPUI.EDU

    Jim Murphy, Ph.D.
    School of Science
    LD 126C
    IUPUI
    274-6762
    JMURPHY@IUPUI.EDU

    Mathew Palakal, Ph.D.
    School of Informatics
    IT 477
    IUPUI
    278-7689
    MPALAKAL@CS.IUPUI.EDU

    Jackie O'Palka, Ph.D.
    Nutrition & Dietetics
    BR114
    IUPUI
    278-0934
    JOPALKA@IUPUI.EDU

    Fred Pavalko, Ph.D.
    Physiology & Biophysics
    MS 377
    IUPUI
    274-3140
    FPAVALKO@IUPUI.EDU

    Daniel Pesut, Ph.D.
    School of Nursing
    NU 485
    IUPUI
    278-2524
    DPESUT@IUPUI.EDU

    G. David Peters, Ed.D.
    School of Engineering & Techonology
    SI 118
    IUPUI
    278-2591
    GPETERS@IUPUI.EDU

    Phillip Powell, Ph.D.
    Business Economics & Public Policy
    BS 4045
    IUPUI
    274-8745
    PHPOWELL@IUPUI.EDU

    Sherry Queener, Ph.D. (Chair)* Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    274-6725 or 274-1563
    QUEENES@IUPUI.EDU

    Simon Rhodes, Ph.D.
    School of Medicine
    MS 207
    IUPUI
    274-3441
    SRHODES@IUPUI.EDU

    Lisa Riolo, Ph.D.
    School of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
    CF 120
    IUPUI
    278-1875
    LRIOLO@IUPUI.EDU

    Sharon Sims, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    School of Nursing
    NU 318
    IUPUI 274-4300
    SSIMS@IUPUI.EDU


    Nelson Soto*
    Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    278-4331
    NSOTO@INDIANA.EDU

    Tony Stamatoplos, MA, MLS
    University Library
    UL 3120A
    IUPUI
    278-1374
    ASTAMATO@IUPUI.EDU

    Jon Story, Ph.D.*
    Purdue University Graduate School
    Young Graduate House, #160
    West Lafayette, IN 47907
    765-494-6963
    JASTORY@PURDUE.EDU

    Soren Svanum, Ph.D.
    Psychology
    LD 100C
    IUPUI
    274-6769
    SSVANUM@IUPUI.EDU

    Sue Wheeler*
    Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    274-1861
    SULWHEEL@IUPUI.EDU

    James Williams, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Anatomy
    MS 5055
    IUPUI
    274-3423
    WILLIAMS@ANATOMY.IUPUI.EDU

    Marianne Wokeck, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of History
    CA 503Q
    IUPUI
    274-5820
    MWOKECK@IUPUI.EDU

    * Non-voting Member

August 26, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for May 27, 2008
Discussion Items

  • Revision of MS degree programs in Pharmacology and in Toxicology - approved
  • Revision of MS degree program in Microbiology and Immunology - approved
  • Change in Cancer Biology Minor - approved
  • Revision of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology MS Degree - approved
September 23, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for August 26, 2008
Discussion Items

  • MA in Applied Anthropology - Revised Proposal - approved
    • MA in Applied Anthropology - Appendix A
    • MA in Applied Anthropology - Appendix B
    • MA in Applied Anthropology - Appendix C
    • MA in Applied Anthropology - Appendix D
    • Review 1 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 2 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 3 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 4 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 5 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 6 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Response from Anthropology Department - Spring 2008
    • Response from Anthropology Department - September 2008
  • Change in Credit Hour Requirements for the Master of Public Health (MPH) Degree - approved
  • Change in Credit Requirements for Graduate Certificate in Public Health - approved
  • Public Health: Major Code Name Change - approved
  • IU East: Graduate Certificate in Composition Studies Proposal - approved (see minutes)
  • Graduate Certificate in Teaching Writing Proposal - approved (see minutes)
    • Graduate Certificate in Teaching Writing Assessment
    • Review 1 for Graduate Certificate in Teaching Writing
October 28, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for September 23, 2008
Discussion Items

No programs reviewed

November 25, 2008

Cancelled

January 27, 2009

Agenda
Minutes approved for October 28, 2008
Discussion Items

  • PhD Minor in Computer Science Proposal - approved
  • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal
  • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - REVISION January 2009 - approved
    • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - Letters of Support
    • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - Letters of Support 2
    • PhD in Epidemiology Review 1
    • PhD in Epidemiology Review 2
  • Addiction Graduate Certificate Proposal - Tabled for clarifications
    • Addiction Graduate Certificate Proposal
    • Addiction Graduate Certificate Review 1
    • Addiction Graduate Certificate Review 2
  • Curriculum Change for MA in Philosophy Program- approved
  • JD/Graduate Certificate in Health Law and Bioethics Proposal - (See Old Business in 03-24-09 minutes)
February 24, 2009

Agenda
Minutes approved for January 27, 2009
Discussion Items

  • PhD in Economics Proposal - approved
    • PhD in Economics Review 1
    • PhD in Economics Review 2
    • PhD in Economics Review 3
    • PhD in Economics Review 4
    • PhD in Economics Review 5
    • PhD in Economics Review 6
  • Credit Changes in the MA in Philosophy - Bioethics Track - approved
  • Principles of Graduate and Professional Learning Draft
  • Principles of Graduate and Professional Learning - Purdue Example
  • Department of Economics Response to External Reviews
March 24, 2009

Agenda
Minutes approved for February 24, 2009
Discussion Items

  • Proposed Changes to the 2011 Commencement
  • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal
  • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - REVISION January 2009
  • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - REVISION March 2009 - approved
    • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - Letters of Support
    • PhD in Epidemiology Proposal - Letters of Support 2
    • PhD in Epidemiology Review 1
    • PhD in Epidemiology Review 2
    • PhD in Epidemiology Review 3
    • PhD in Epidemiology Review 4
  • Public Health: Major Code Name Change - approved (see Old Business in 04-28-09 minutes)
April 28, 2009

Agenda
Minutes approved for March 24, 2009
Discussion Items

  • MS in Event Tourism Proposal - revisions necessary
    • MS in Event Tourism Review 1
    • MS in Event Tourism Review 2
  • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences Proposal
  • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences Proposal - Revised - April 2009 - approved
    • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences Review 1
    • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences Review 2
    • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences Review 3
    • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences Review 4
    • PhD in Applied Earth Sciences - Response from Department of Earth Sciences
  • Curriculum Sub-Committee Approved Courses: April 1st, 2009 Meeting
May 26, 2009

Agenda
Minutes approved for April 28, 2009
Discussion Items

  • Office of Student Scholarships: Fellowship Award Form
  • Student Information Guide for Fellowships
  • Doctorate in Nursing Practice Proposal (DNP) - approved
    • CHE Distance Policy Form
    • Appendix A
    • Appendix B
    • Appendix C
    • Tables
    • DNP Review 1
    • DNP Review 2
    • DNP Review 3
    • DNP Review 4 - Cover Letter
    • DNP Review 4
    • DNP Review 5
    • DNP Review 5 - Essentials
    • School of Nursing Response to Reviews
  • Graduate Certificate in Homeland Security and Emergency Management - Tabled for revisions
    • Graduate Certificate in Homeland Security and Emergency Management Review
  • Master of Science in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Proposal
  • Master of Science in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Proposal - Revised May 2009 - approved
    • Letters of Support
    • Letters of Support 2
    • Appendix
    • Master of Science in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Budget
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 1
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 2
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 3
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 4
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 5
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 6
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety Review 7
    • MS in Criminal Justice & Public Safety - Department Response
  • Graduate Certificate in Clinical Informatics - approved with revisions
    • Graduate Certificate in Clinical Informatics Review