Graduate Affairs Committee

Archive

2007-08

Graduate Affairs Committee: Roster, Minutes, Agendas, & Discussion Items

  • View the 2007-2008 Roster

    Graduate Affairs Committee 2007-2008

    Margaret Adamek, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    School of Social Work
    ES 4138 H
    IUPUI
    274-6730
    MADAMEK@IUPUI.EDU

    Paul S. Carlin, Ph.D.
    Department of Economics
    CA 509B
    IUPUI
    278-7239
    PCARLIN@IUPUI.EDU

    Subir Chakrabarti, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Economics
    CA 525
    IUPUI
    274-2412
    IMXL100@IUPUI.EDU

    George Edwards, J.D.
    School of Law
    IH 201
    IUPUI
    278-2359
    GEDWARDS@IUPUI.EDU

    Anthony Faiola, Ph.D.
    School of Informatics
    IT 485
    IUPUI
    278-4141
    AFAIOLA@IUPUI.EDU

    Eugenia Fernandez, Ph.D.
    Engineering & Technology
    SL 220F
    IUPUI
    274-6794
    EFERNAN@IUPUI.EDU

    David Ford, Ph.D.
    School of Liberal Arts
    CA 441
    IUPUI
    274-2449
    DAFORD@IUPUI.EDU

    Dominique Galli, Ph.D.
    School of Dentistry
    DS 261
    IUPUI
    278-1936
    DGALLI@IUPUI.EDU

    Mark Goebl, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Biochemistry
    MS 4071F
    IUPUI
    274-2055
    MGOEBL@IUPUI.EDU

    Andrew T. Hsu, Ph.D.
    Engineering & Technology
    SL 260
    IUPUI
    274-9715
    ANHSU@IUPUI.EDU

    Greg Garrett
    Graduate Student Organization President
    CE356
    IUPUI
    278-
    ggarett@IUPUI.EDU

    Roger Jarjoura, Ph.D.
    School of Public & Environmental Affairs
    BS 4066
    IUPUI
    278-2270
    RJARJOUR@IUPUI.EDU

    Marilyn Irwin, Ph.D.
    School of Library & Information Science
    UL 3115J
    IUPUI
    278-2385
    IRWINM@IUPUI.EDU

    Anthony Kaleth, Ed.D.
    School of Physical Education & Tourism Management
    PE 271
    IUPUI
    278-8439
    AKALETH@IUPUI.EDU

    Michael Klemsz, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Microbiology & Immunology
    MS 5010
    IUPUI
    274-8298
    MKLEMSZ@IUPUI.EDU

    David Koerner *
    Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    278-2071
    GKOERNER@IUPUI.EDU

    Michael J. Kowolik, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    School of Dentistry
    DS 260
    IUPUI
    278-0222
    MKOWOLIK@IUPUI.EDU

    Jane Lambert
    Kelley School of Business
    BS 3024F
    IUPUI
    278-1118
    JLAMBERT@IUPUI.EDU

    Craig McDaniel
    Herron School of Art & Design
    HM 110
    IUPUI
    CRMCDANI@IUPUI.EDU

    Bart Ng, Ph.D.
    Faculty Council Executive Committee Liaison
    Mathematical Sciences
    LD224A
    IUPUI
    BNG@MATH.IUPUI.EDU

    Jackie O'Palka, Ph.D.
    Nutrition & Dietetics
    BR114
    IUPUI
    278-0934
    JOPALKA@IUPUI.EDU

    Robert Osgood, Ph.D.
    School of Education
    ES 3122
    IUPUI
    274-6864
    ROSGOOD@IUPUI.EDU

    Fred Pavalko, Ph.D.
    Physiology & Biophysics
    MS 377
    IUPUI
    274-3140
    FPAVALKO@IUPUI.EDU

    Daniel Pesut, Ph.D.
    School of Nursing
    NU 485
    IUPUI
    278-2524
    DPESUT@IUPUI.EDU

    David Peters, Ed.D.
    School of Music
    SI 118
    IUPUI
    278-2591
    GPETERS@IUPUI.EDU

    Phillip Powell, Ph.D.
    Business Economics & Public Policy
    BS 4045
    IUPUI
    274-8745
    PHPOWELL@IUPUI.EDU

    Sherry Queener, Ph.D. (Chair) *
    Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    274-6725 or 274-1563
    QUEENES@IUPUI.EDU

    Simon Rhodes, Ph.D.
    School of Medicine
    MS 207
    IUPUI
    274-3441
    srhodes@iupui.edu

    Sharon Sims, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    School of Nursing
    NU 318
    IUPUI
    274-4300
    SSIMS@IUPUI.EDU

    Tony Stamatoplos, MA, MLS
    University Library
    UL 3120A
    IUPUI
    278-1374
    ASTAMATO@IUPUI.EDU

    Jon Story, Ph.D. *
    Purdue University Graduate School
    Young Graduate House, #160
    West Lafayette, IN 47907
    765-494-6963
    JASTORY@PURDUE.EDU

    Soren Svanum, Ph.D.
    Psychology
    LD 100C
    IUPUI
    274-6769
    SSVANUM@IUPUI.EDU

    Gail Vance, M.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Medical & Molecular Genetics
    IB 264
    IUPUI
    274-5750
    GHVANCE@IUPUI.EDU

    Sue Wheeler *
    Graduate Office
    UN 207
    IUPUI
    274-1861
    SULWHEEL@IUPUI.EDU

    James Williams, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of Anatomy
    MS 5055
    IUPUI
    274-3423
    WILLIAMS@ANATOMY.IUPUI.EDU

    Marianne Wokeck, Ph.D.
    Graduate Council Appointee
    Department of History
    CA 503Q
    IUPUI
    274-5820
    MWOKECK@IUPUI.EDU

    * Non-voting Member

October 2, 2007

Rescheduled from Sept. 25, 2007
Agenda
Minutes approved for May 22, 2007

Discussion Items

  • Proposal for Master in Arts in Public Relations - approved
    • Letter of Agreement between School of Journalism and Kelley School of Business
    • Letter of Agreement between School of Journalism and Department of Communications
    • Review 1 for MA in Public Relations
    • Review 2 for MA in Public Relations
    • Review 3 for MA in Public Relations
    • Review 4 for MA in Public Relations
    • Review 5 for MA in Public Relations
    • School of Journalism Response to Reviews
  • PhD in Biostatistics Proposal - approved
    • Summary of PhD in Biostatistics
    • Reference 1 for PhD in Biostatistics Proposal
    • Reference 2 for PhD in Biostatistics Proposal
    • Reference 3 for PhD in Biostatistics Proposal
    • Review 1 for PhD in Biostatistics
    • Review 2 for PhD in Biostatistics
    • Review 3 for PhD in Biostatistics
October 23, 2007

Cancelled

November 27, 2007

Agenda
Minutes approved for October 2, 2007

Discussion Items

  • Revisions to language requirements for MA in History -  approved
  • Revisions to course requirement changes for MA in English - approved
January 22, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for November 27, 2007

Discussion Items

  • Cancer Biology Minor - approved
  • Revisions to MS Programs - Indiana University School of Medicine BioMedical Gateway (IBMG) - approved
  • Revisions to PhD Programs - Indiana University School of Medicine BioMedical Gateway (IBMG) - approved
  • Graduate Certificate in Media Art & Science Proposal - approved
    • Letter of Support from the Dept. of Computer Science, IUPUI School of Science
    • Letter of Support from Bryan Gray, CEO, MediaSauce
    • Letter of Support from the Dept. of Design and Communication Technology, IUPUI School of Engineering & Technology
    • Letter of Support from Brian Phillips, Art Director, The Basement Design + Motion
    • Review 1 for Graduate Certificate in Media Art & Sciences Proposal
    • Review 2 for Graduate Certificate in Media Art & Sciences Proposal
  • Proposal for MS in Media Art and Sciences Revisions - hold pending revisions
February 26, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for January 22, 2008

Discussion Items

  • e-Learning Graduate Certificate Leadership in Clinical Pediatric Nutrition Proposal - approved
    • Review 1 for e-Learning Graduate Certificate Leadership in Clinical Pediatric Nutrition
    • Review 2 for e-Learning Graduate Certificate Leadership in Clinical Pediatric Nutrition
  • Master of Science in Taxation Proposal - pending changes
    • Review 1 for Master of Science in Taxation
    • Review 2 for Master of Science in Taxation
    • Review 3 for Master of Science in Taxation
    • Response from Kelley School of Business for Review for Master of Science in Taxation
    • Response from Kelley School of Business for Review 1
    • Response from Kelley School of Business for Review 2
    • Response from Kelley School of Business for Review 3
  • Graduate Certificate in Media Art & Science Proposal - REVISED - pending changes
  • Clinical Rehab Psychology - Renaming Graduate Program - approved
March 26, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for February 26, 2008

Discussion Items

  • Master of Science in Taxation Proposal - REVISED -  approved
  • Graduate Certificate in Media Art and Sciences - REVISED - approved
  • BS/MS in Geology Proposal - (see minutes)
  • MA in Applied Communications - Change in Credit Hours - approved
April 22, 2008

Cancelled

May 27, 2008

Agenda
Minutes approved for March 25, 2008

Discussion Items

  • MS in Nutrition and Dietetics - Change in Course Requirements - approved
  • Revision of the MS degree program in Medical Neuroscience - pending approval
  • Kelley School of Business - Major Name Change Request - approved
  • Kelley School of Business - Supply Chain Management Major in Evening MBA Program - approved
  • JD/Graduate Certificate in Health Law and Bioethics Proposal - informational item
  • Proposal for a Dual Degree in Health Administration and Public Health - approved
  • Graduate Certificate in Teaching Writing Proposal - tabled until Fall 2008
    • Review 1 for Graduate Certificate in Teaching Writing
  • MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal - tabled until Fall 2008
    • Review 1 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 2 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 3 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Review 4 for MA in Applied Anthropology Proposal
    • Response from Anthropology Department
  • IU East: Graduate Certificate in Composition Studies - tabled until Fall 2008
  • Minor in Medical Genetics - informational item
  • PhD in Medical and Molecular Genetics - informational item
  • MS degree program in Medical & Molecular Genetics revision - pending approval